Friday, October 5, 2012

J: Josephine Tey

Josephine Tey is one of the pen names of Elizabeth Mackintosh who was born at Inverness, Scotland in 1896 and died in 1952. She also published under the name "Gordon Daviot." Tey is considered one of the 'Queens of Crime' from the Golden Age of mystery fiction.
Several years ago the Washington Post ran an interesting, but factually dubious, article about her. For example, the article says no pictures of her exist, but a tribute on the anniversary of her death includes several. 

Her mystery novels, some of which were published as Daviot, but have generally been reissued as Tey novels, are:
  • The Man in the Queue  
  • Shilling for Candles
  • To Love and Be Wise
  • The Daughter of Time
  • The Singing Sands
  • Miss Pym Disposes 
  • The Franchise Affair
  • Brat Farrar
This post is part of the Crime Fiction Alphabet 2012 at Mysteries in Paradise. I got behind on this and am working on catching up the letters I missed.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...