Thursday, November 7, 2013

2013 Really is the Year of the Short Story!

Ann of Books on the Nightstand (a fabulous podcast!) dubbed 2013 the "year of the short story" back in January. Apparently some of the folks who give out big literary awards listen to her.

The Giller Prize went to Lynn Coady for a short story collection, Hellgoing.

The 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature went to Alice Munro, "master of the contemporary short story."

Two more writers for my TBR list!

1 comment:

  1. I never thought of myself as much of short story reader, but should definitely try at least Munro's works. It does seem pretty good year for short stories!


Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...